Portfolio as a transitional element

Where this is going, nobody knows.  For years I have worked exclusively in fiber, silk to be specific.  I love the challenge that silk presents – the dyes move like a gallon of milk dropped on a concrete floor.  That jug just does not bounce – it splits and the milk flows in all directions!  Due to the long staple fibers of silk, the dyes move rapidly as they follow the fibers.  In every direction.   Learning to control that flow creates technical challenges unlike any other media.

The luminosity of the silk is what keeps me going back and mixing the dyes to create every color imaginable is my passion.  But I digress…

I have been lured into the world of paints and canvas.   It started when I began experimenting with mounting my silks on a stretched canvas to give me a way to present them in a manner a bit more user friendly for a non-wearable, more traditional presentation.  The mounting works beautifully and now I am entertaining myself with acrylics on canvas.  Where it is going, nobody knows.

Before I show off the new direction, I’m taking a stroll through my stretched silks.   Enjoy!

My biggest stretched piece to date.  There are 7 butterflies and 1 moth in the painting - one from every continent on earth and they are all in correct proportion to each other as they would be if all in the same place.

 
My biggest stretched piece to date. There are 7 butterflies and 1 moth in the painting – one from every continent on earth and they are all in correct proportion to each other as they would be if all in the same place.
Leave a Reply

